Racing Weight

Hi again! I hope you all had a fantastic Mother’s Day weekend!  Mine was wonderful! Jam packed – but fantastic, nonetheless.

I’ve gone for a few runs since the half marathon, and so far I’m feeling great! No pain, and no tight calves which is fantastic!

I mentioned before about making some much needed changes, and right now the first priority is my diet.

I stumbled across a book by Matt Fitzgerald called ‘Racing Weight‘.

racing weight cover (source)

This book is a great guide to weight loss and management for endurance athletes, and what I’ll be using to help me. Some of the things the book focuses on is:

  • Dieting vs Performance Management
  • Diet Quality
  • Appetite Management
  • Nutrient Timing

In addition, this book also helps you determine (roughly) your ideal racing weight/body fat percentage.

To me, the most important part of this is the Diet Quality Score (DQS). Rather than counting calories, you should be focusing more on the quality of your diet.  Obviously nothing revolutionary here, but sometimes it’s easy to lose sight of the basics. I also think that when you’re trying to lose weight, the first thing to do is cut back on your carb intake. For most people, that is a good solution but for runners (or other endurance athletes) not so swell.

To score your Diet Quality, foods are assigned a value – “high quality” foods such as lean meats, fruits and veggies and whole grains have a higher score as opposed to “low quality” foods such as fried foods, sweets, etc which are assigned negative point values.  Obviously the higher the score, the better. It’s also pointed out that you don’t necessarily need to have a perfect score (32) everyday, just one that allows you manage your hunger and fuel your training. Most people do well on a daily DQS between 15-19.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been keeping a food journal and tallying my daily DQS score. I’ve been averaging somewhere around a 10.  Most definitely room for improvement. For the next few weeks, until training starts I’m going to work on getting as close to a perfect score as possible daily and then see where my score levels off at. I’d be happy with anything between a 17-21.

I’ve also been working on the appetite management aspect of Racing Weight. This plays a huge part in my overall eating habits.  The author stresses the importance knowing if you are actually hungry, or is it “head hunger”? In following some of his guidelines, I’ve found that most of my “hunger” during the day is head hunger, and that I’m eating out of boredom or because I simply think that I’m hungry.

I’ll try to keep up with daily DQS updates, and thoughts on how the system is working for me!

I’m curious –  how do you monitor your food intake? Calorie counting, points, food journal, nothing?  What about appetite management? Are you a boredom eater? Have you read/implemented Racing Weight into your eating habit?

 

Leave a Reply

