Hammock Time

I’ve been saying for years that I want a hammock.  We have a really large, beautiful tree in our front yard that would be perfect for one – lots of shade (perfect for a pasty person who burns just talking about sunlight), nice and level….everything you need.  For some reason, though, we just never bought one. We’d forget, or say “next summer”; “next summer” would come and go and still no hammock.

Last Sunday I was checking out the weekly ads and found one on sale at Big Lots, of all places. We went there, grabbed one of the last ones on the shelf and took it home.

Of course there was some assembly required:

Just a few pieces

Just a few pieces

But, we had plenty of qualified help.

Deploying the Team

Deploying the Team

020

022

It actually didn’t take long at all, and before I knew it I had a spiffy little hammock (complete with a sunroof to keep my pale, freckled legs shaded) all ready to go. We decided to put it on our back porch so that every time The Tall One cuts grass, which is at least once a week, it doesn’t have to be moved.

I was soooo excited to try it out – I had the perfect book , a glass of iced tea, and my sunglasses all ready to go. Then, it started to rain.  And the skies have pretty much looked like this all week long:

043

Tomorrow is supposed to be a beautiful day though, so hopefully I will get to (finally) enjoy my hammock!

4 thoughts on “Hammock Time

Leave a Reply

