Air Force Marathon Training – Week 2

This is what I would consider my last “low mileage” week – everything from here on out is 19+ miles. As much as I like that this plan eases you into the higher miles, I am excited to get into the 25+ miles per week. That’s when I feel like it’s really marathon training!

I managed to get all of my running in, but not even close on the strength training.  It wasn’t entirely on purpose, but, sometimes there are things more important that lifting weights. This was one of those times, and we’ll just leave it at that.

Monday:

Planned: 3 Miles

Actual: 3 Miles 32:08 (10:42 pace). Honestly, this run feels like so long ago I can’t remember any of the details. I must’ve been feeling good since I managed to keep all 3 miles in the high 10 minute per mile range!

Tuesday:

Planned: Strength

Actual: Strength!  Total Gym time that focused on back/biceps/shoulders. As per the plan, I also added my own core/leg work to the tune of:

2 sets of each with 25 reps

Sumo Squats

Lying Leg Raises

Marching Hip Raises

V-Ups

Walking Lunges w/a 10lb plate

Wednesday

Planned: 3 Mile fartlek

Actual: 3 Mile fartlek 29:59 (9:59 avg). I did a .5 mile warm up, .5mile cool down and a bunch of speed bursts in between.

Fartlek Splits

I really love fartlek runs; it’s like a tempo run without the commitment. I can run fast when I’m ready, and am allowed to slow down every now and then to get my breath back. Someday, I’ll try a real tempo run but for now this is a good start. I think.

Thursday

Planned: Strength

Actual: Nothing. This is the day where $@!& hit the fan, and to be perfectly honest, squats and lunges were the last thing on my mind.

Friday:

Planned: 4 Miles + Strength

Actual: 4 AM miles 46:12 (11:33 avg) – No Strength.  I really needed this run; it wasn’t particularly fast but it didn’t need to be. It was one of those cathartic, sweat it all out kind of runs and THAT was what I needed.  I was supposed to hit the Total Gym that evening, but I didn’t get home until almost 9….T.G. wasn’t happening.

Saturday:

Planned: 7 Mile long run

Actual: 7 Miles 1:20 (11:30 avg). I have a particular route around my neighborhood that I can use for anything from 6-12 miles and it is HARD. It doesn’t look like much, but at around mile 5 you start to climb up a hill. And you just.keep.climbing. It’s a long, gradual hill that you don’t necessarily even see  but oh my goodness, you can feel it!! This route always kicks my ass (there are times I still need to walk parts of it), but I actually really like it.  I like the challenge and I keep telling myself that someday, I will be able to cruise right up that hill and not even notice it. Someday.

The green is elevation

The green is elevation

Sunday

Planned: Rest

Actual: Rest. I’m going to try to work in strength today, too. We’ll see!

What race are you training for? How’s it going?  What kind of strength training do you incorporate into your training plans?

5 thoughts on “Air Force Marathon Training – Week 2

    • Fartleks are the best! I am just so terrible at tempos- I go out way too fast and then end up barely finishing the run. I really need to suck it up, put on my big girl pants, and learn how to do a real tempo run though!

  1. Just the other day was my first fartlek workout. It was a bit of a cop out because it really was supposed to be a tempo run but I couldn’t handle due to hangover (oops). It was actually lots of fun to pick a landmark in the distance and try to haul ass over to it.

    I love your hills elevation on a frequent course. I’m hurting for hills nearby. I can drive to some brutal ones, but for day to day usage, I’d like a bit more ups and downs.

    For strength, most of what I do is through HIIT workouts in two different Biggest Loser DVD’s (one by Bob and one by Jillian). Pretty light weights but between the two vids, they hit the whole body. To supplement, I also do extra body weight training with dips and pullups, which is actually a mix of pullups and walk-the-planks (where you stand on a chair then step off like you’re walking a pirate ship plank, trying to slow your fall by pulling on the bar as hard as you can, very helpful if, like me, you cannot do enough pullups to make a full workout).

    • That’s pretty much how I started running fartleks! I am horrible at tempos – I have no control over my pace…I go out like a bat out of hell and burn out after a half mile. At least with a fartlek I can take a minute or two to recover before going fast again!

      I am very curious about “walk the plank”…it sounds like it’s right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

