What I Ate Wednesday

That has a much nicer ring to it than, “What I Shoved Down my Gullet, Wednesday”. Don’t you think? Anyway, I’ve never done one of these and: are you really a blogger if you don’t do this at least once? That’s what I thought.  Never mind that it’s Thursday – I promise all of these items were consumed yesterday.

Moving right along.

First things first. Coffee. Don’t even look at me until I’ve had some of this sweet, delicious nectar from the gods. Yes, I use fake creamer. No, I’m never, ever giving it up. You’ll have to pry it out of my cold dead hands first. ( I love my coffee to have cream and sugar in it, but I try really hard to limit my dairy, of the cow variety, consumption to just a little bit of cheese, so I stick with the non-dairy version)

coffee

Don’t you judge me!

For the first part of my breakfast I had an un-pictured, too yellow banana. It was gross. I’m not big on bananas to begin with, but they are good for you so I choke them down. My one requirement is that they be green. Once they start getting too yellow they start tasting too….banana-y. Nasty.

I took the rest of my breakfast to work, along with my snacks and lunch.

Sandwich, Soup, Instant Oatmeal, Fruit, Veggies & Hummus

Sandwich, Soup, Instant Oatmeal, Fruit, Veggies & Hummus

I normally have a whole wheat English muffin with peanut butter, a smidge of preserves, and chia seeds but I neglected to take a new package of muffins out of the freezer the night before. Derp. So I made do with instant oatmeal – not the best option. Not the worst, either.

I wasn’t really hungry after the banana, and didn’t have my oatmeal until almost 11. It had absolutely nothing to do with this.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

mmmmmm, sprinkles!!

Swear.

I also drink green tea and water during the day – I try for at least 2 servings from the pink water bottle while I’m at work (64 oz). It doesn’t always happen, but I try!

Hydrate, Hydrate, Hydrate

Hydrate, Hydrate, Hydrate

Lunchtime was homemade veggie barley soup, and a turkey and one-slice-of-swiss-cheese sandwich with Dijon. Oh so good. And filling! I had a few bites of my veggies (mini cucumbers and bell pepper) with hummus, but was so full I put those back in the fridge for the rest of the week.

Snack time took me to the sliced pineapple and strawberries. YUM.YUM.YUM.

Dinner was the best – an egg scramble with sautéed mushroom, zucchini, bell pepper and turkey served on top of goat cheese, so it melts and gets all creamy (that’s what she said). Oh Mylanta, is that the best. I’ll spare you a picture of the finished product because, honestly, it looks like something that the cat hacked up. But trust me – the goat cheese makes this amazing.

 

Mushrooms, Zucchini, Bell Pepper and Goat Cheese. YUM!!!

Mushrooms, Zucchini, Bell Pepper and Goat Cheese. YUM!!!

 

I also needed to get in 4 miles yesterday – I had good intentions of doing that first thing in the morning, but rumbling thunder and flashes of lighting kept me in bed. I don’t mind running in the rain, but getting zapped by lightning isn’t very high up on my bucket list. So, I ran when I got home. And it was bad. Temps were high, and since I usually run in the AM I wasn’t exactly prepared for it, but I did stash a water bottle along my route so that part wasn’t awful. But, oh, my legs and feet! After about a mile, they felt like concrete. Every step felt heavy and tired and my Achilles and calves started to tighten up again! I was so frustrated. I thought I had finally beaten that problem, and it popped right up again. I had to stop so many times to try to stretch them out, and walk, and finally, a little shy of 3 miles I just bagged it. I walked another mile with The Tall One and his mom (no pain while I was walking…even more frustrating!!!!), and was just irritated.  It’s hard to figure out when to suck it up buttercup, and when to be smart and say “there’s always tomorrow”.

I was able to run once last week in the PM, without much of a problem so it gives me some hope that I can do this. I also ran 3 “redemption miles” tonight, without any problem, so I am lost.   It’s obviously something I’m doing wrong since I never feel this way when I run in the morning -only when I run after work. I sit for most of the day, and wear flat, practical shoes so I can’t see it being any kind of fatigue. I still need to look into salt sticks to see if that helps. Normally, I wouldn’t see this as a big deal – just run in the morning; unfortunately though, once I get to a certain point in my training plan I’ll have to run after work. The sad fact is that I’m just too slow to get more than 4 miles in before I have to get ready for work (I would love to start running at 5AM, but, I have no street lights in my neighborhood, and the park that I run in has a large coyote population, so I have to wait until it’s light out to get started. Getting mauled by coyotes? Also not high on the bucket list). If anyone has suggestions, I’m all ears.

 

What’s your favorite meal that look gnarly, but is freaking delicious?

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. I also woke to the thunder and lightning on Wednesday and debated doing my run after work. But I knew how bad it was supposed to be and the possibility of getting struck by lightning won out over the heat and humidity, so I ran in the morning (and did not see a single other runner, so I realize how stupid it was). I also run in the mornings and will be starting my half marathon training soon. Luckily, my mid-week runs don’t go much over five miles. I try to leave my house by 5:15 and even though the sun isn’t up yet, it is fairly light already. Also, I take a salt stick before every run. I have had nausea in the past when I do hard runs and find the salt sticks help for that.

    • I would much rather run in the morning, but since the marathon is in September and the weather can be hot or cool I figure that getting used to the heat would be a good idea. If it stays cool I should have a much easier time running, and if it’s god-awful hot then I at least will know how my body responds to it (does that make sense?). I can usually leave the house around 5:20 and be ok, but I still get nervous that they’ll be out (I’m a touch dramatic).

      I usually don’t have an issue with nausea while I run, but I figure that since all of my training runs will be in the heat it can’t be a bad thing to try to prevent it!
      I can’t wait to hear about your training – maybe we’ll look into a few runs together! 🙂

  2. I use the fake coffee creamer too, generic no name store brand powdered stuff, puts hair on your chest, or something like that.

    My favorite ugly meal is a concoction I very aptly call “Spinach, Beans, and Rice”. Basically sautee with a drop of olive oil: 3 bags of frozen spinach, a ton of minced garlic (I use two whole heads, its insanely garlic-ey, alter to your own taste), two of the big cans of kidney beans, maybe if you’re feeling courageous mix in a can of cannellini or whatever, and about 2 pounds of diced tomatoes. Add some salt and pepper and whatever else you want to throw in there. Just let that simmer in a large soup pot and stew it for an hour or hour and a half. Add some rice to the bowl at serving time. Looks exactly the same today as it does tomorrow, so no treat for the eyes, but tastes amazing, fills you up, and is a very reasonable amount of WW points (or calories, i guess but I never calculated those).

    • That actually sounds pretty delicious! I am a garlic lover so that is right up my alley. I’m not big on kidney beans (or any beans), but I suspect cannellinis would be a good addition! I really need to add some more beans to my diet, and this may be a good way to do that – thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

