Air Force Marathon Training – Week 3

There is no nice way to put this…this week was bad. It was an emotional roller coaster full of all of the things that you normally refrain from sharing with a bunch of internet strangers. I did what I could to get the runs in when I could, which led to me running 5 days in a row, culminating with what could probably qualify as one my Top 3 worst long runs.

Let’s just get this over with, so we can start fresh tomorrow 🙂

Monday:

Planned: 3 Miles

Actual: Nothing. I guess I would classify this as a rest day. I planned to run these 3 when I got home from work, but while I was at work, plans changed and I didn’t get home until much later than normal.

Tuesday

Planned: Strength + Cross Training

Actual: 3 Hilly AM Miles 34:24 (11:21 pace). This time I knew in advance that it would be another late night, so I made sure to make up Monday’s run first thing in the morning. This was probably my best run of the week – I hit as many hills as I could and felt strong despite the crazy humidity.

Just a little steamy

Just a little steamy

This gave me high hopes for the rest of the week.  I didn’t have time for strength that morning, and we didn’t get home until well after 9. Way past this granny’s bedtime.

Wednesday

Planned: 4 Miles w/ Hills

Actual: 2.77 awful, miserable miles 36:52 (13:19 pace).  You can read about it here. No idea what happened. Maybe it was a combination of the heat and not stretching well before I went out, maybe it was just an off day (more bad news was delivered). I don’t know, but it was bad. I had to stop to stretch more times in 2 miles than I can count, and finally I just decided to call it a day. I walked another mile with The Tall One, and stewed about it. <—–  This is bad. I can’t let one bad run ruin the week for me. I’m not usually like this either; I think I’m just a little overwhelmed with the current situation and am having a hard time coping with it. Hopefully, I will get better at managing my emotions. Soon.

Thursday

Planned: Strength + Cross

Actual: 3 PM Miles 34:40 (11:33 pace). This was stupid, but I had to do it. I was still holding onto Wednesday’s run, and doubts were starting to creep in. “What if I really can’t run in the evening? What kind of doctor do you see for this? WHY do I have so much trouble running after work? If I can’t run at night, how am I going to do the last 6+ weeks of training?!?”   Yeah. Welcome to the inner workings of my brain. It’s a strange place. I ran this for peace of mind, which would normally be fine, but then that meant that I would be running 5 days (almost 22 miles) in a row. A little later in training, 22 miles will all be done in 1 day and (hopefully) no big deal…but I’m nowhere near that yet.  In continuing with my streak of brilliance, I also did my strength training that night where I added some weight to my lunges and squats (again, brilliant timing on my part).

Friday

Planned: 4 Miles + strength

Actual: 4 AM Miles 45:45 (11:26 pace). My legs were feeling the added weight to those squats and lunges, but I still managed to make my last mile my fastest (11:07). So there’s some positive. This also popped up on my phone while I was running to help give me a boost.

3 Month To Go!!

3 Month To Go!!

No PM strength like there should have been; and even more bad news delivered that evening that was sort of expected, but still awful to hear. I think the kitties knew I was upset, and were doing extra cute things to make me smile.

He is SO proud that he got up there all by himself.

He is SO proud that he got up there all by himself.

If it fit, it ships!

If it fit, it ships!

Saturday

Planned: 9 Mile Long Run

Actual: 9 Miles 1:50 (12:15 pace). I could not make my legs move – no matter what I did, I couldn’t go faster if I tried. Every time I looked at my watch, I couldn’t believe how slow I was going. I felt like I was going my normal pace (normally 11:30-11:45 min/mile), and a couple of times I actually thought maybe my watch was broken.

My legs were sore when I started (probably courtesy of those squats and walking lunges with extra weight) and  I didn’t realize it at the time, but it also could have been that whole 5 days of running a row thing. Call it a hunch.  There isn’t much else to report here – it was a crappy run and I need to put this behind me and focus on next week’s schedule. There’s no point dwelling on this; all it’s going to do is hold me back.

Sunday

Planned: Rest

Actual: REST. My legs are tired and so sore. I’ll be icing and stretching and spending some time in my compression sleeves (hopefully on my new hammock, that I STILL haven’t used!!!).

Any tips for overcoming a bad week? Share your worst long run story – we’re all in this together!

5 thoughts on “Air Force Marathon Training – Week 3

    • Thanks Jennifer! My attitude has definitely improved, but unfortunately my legs still aren’t cooperating! 😦 I’m going to do what I can for now, and already have a Drs appt. scheduled for July 7th to hopefully figure out what the deal is! Fingers Crossed!

  1. Here’s a post about my week 4 recap, which was my worst one. Luckily early in the cycle, giving me time to learn and fix, hopefully you can too.

    I had very similar experience early in my marathon training. For me it was over training. I was pushing myself too hard, too far, too fast, too often. The biggest single change was to slow down. My plan had runs called for “race pace” and I threw out nearly all of those, and ran slow in its place. It worked wonders, running became a joy again. I had to continuously remind myself of this through the rest of training, when it becomes a burden, slow down. Every run does not need to be a mental assessment of “how will i ever run the marathon at xyz pace if i cant do measley 5 miles today 30 seconds slower???” The answer is that you can and will deliver on race day!

    • Thank you so much for this! It’s nice to see that other people go through the same things and are able to push through, and move on.
      I know that most of my problems last week stemmed from a crappy attitude; and that unfortunately the situation that we have been thrust into and is causing my crappy attitude is only going to get worse in the coming months. But I can’t let that become a default excuse for everything. There are others out there in similar, if not worse, situations than I and they aren’t wallowing in pity.
      Thanks again – you have no idea how much I needed to read that today 🙂

      • Glad the post helps, I know that comments and emails I got when I wrote that helped me, just knowing how we all go through tough weeks. There feels like a communal strength to get past slumps, even though we each follow our own individual journey.

Leave a Reply

