What I Ate Wednesday

This was supposed to publish last night and didn’t. No idea what happened. #failwhale

Let me start by saying, I realize now that I didn’t eat even close to enough food yesterday.   I’m still going to post it – what I did eat was delicious, there just wasn’t enough – especially carbs.  This was mostly poor planning on my part – and hopefully a mistake I won’t be making again anytime soon.

Breakfast:

First things first – coffee for me, and breakfast for the kids.

breakfast

  A little later I also had a hard cooked egg on a whole wheat English muffin and some black forest ham, plus a banana that was once again too ripe for my liking. Yum to the breakfast sandwich, EW to the banana.

Lunch:

This tortilla soup with some multigrain tortilla chips crumbled on top. I usually add some shredded cheese to this, but forgot to pack it. This soup is great, but was lacking some flavor, so I added chopped cilantro, some lime zest and half a juiced lime and that made it perfect!

032

I also had a sliced bell pepper dipped in some ranch.

033

Snack:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar.

034

And that’s all I had before I tried to run 5 miles in the 88+ degree heat. Dumbass.  I know I said I wasn’t going to do anymore PM runs until I saw the doctor, but yesterday was really my only day to get this one in. When I said that, I also didn’t realize that the schedule was already calling for those kinds of miles. Oops.  Reading the calendar helps.

So, I ran.  It hurt.  Not as bad as usual, but I did still need to walk a few times. I also stopped for several water breaks, and after 4 miles I was done.  I’m disappointed that I didn’t get all 5 in, but I’m also happy that I didn’t just give up as soon as I had to start walking. It’s hard to watch your already slow paces creep up and up and up…and then you start to wonder “is running this marathon a good idea? Should I stick to half marathons? I’m sure it will all be fine in the end, but it’s tough.  Not only were my legs hurting, I just felt tired and sluggish (no shit, Sherlock….you ate less than 1,000 calories over the course of the day)

I also just bought a new pair of shoes over the weekend, and while I still have about 100 miles before I’m ready to retire my current pair of Adrenalines, I figured I’d give the new ones a shot to see if that helps at all *spoiler alert. It didn’t*.  But, aren’t they snazzy?? 🙂

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14.

After I ran, I iced my legs and sat with my Gatorade and some of this delicious Pub Mix (all I wanted was something salty).

036

Apparently I overdid it on the mix, because I felt sick the rest of the night. I was planning on a delicious dinner with chicken, a baked sweet ‘tater and some roasted asparagus, but all I could manage was a cup of green tea. I should also mention that even WITH that delicious dinner, I still would have eaten less than 1500 calories – I need to start adding better snacks into my day!

 

In other exciting news – I’m running a 5K tomorrow! Which is now today since this didn’t post on time 🙂  Even though a 5K was the first race I ever ran (4 years ago!!), I really don’t care for them;  I always say that it takes me at least 3 miles to warm up, so the race is done before I’m even ready. I’ve had a pretty negative attitude towards them, so I decided to give them another try. My time from my last race was 36 minutes and some change. I’m hoping to beat that time – I know it won’t be by anything crazy but 30-31 minutes would be nice.  I haven’t been training specifically for this, but it fit perfectly into my training schedule for the week so I couldn’t pass it up!   Stay tuned for my first ever race recap!!

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I am SO excited about this! I’m not a very interesting person, so it may take me a few days to think of 7 interesting things about myself 😉 I can’t wait to participate!

  1. Your cats have feeding stations with their names above? Love that!!!

    I have never run a marathon but am thinking of doing my first. I think I will *have* to train in the winter for a spring marathon. Reading your recaps make me see just how tough the after-work runs would be.

    • They totally do! It was my husband’s idea – I have picture somewhere with all 4 of them at their respective station…it’s too cute!

      Honestly, I didn’t have this much trouble training for my first marathon last year at all! I started to really look forward to my after work runs – I felt like such a bad ass running 6 or 7 miles on a weeknight!! This is still a result of me trying to do too much, too soon for the half marathon and I’m paying the price. I do have a diagnosis and plan of attack and hopefully soon I’ll be able to post about it!

Leave a Reply

