Air Force Marathon Training – Week 5

Whew! Another week down, and I am seriously behind in posting my update! Somehow I always feel even more behind that usual after a long weekend!

This was a fairly decent week for training – once again, I ran into some trouble trying out an evening run but now that I’ve been able to see a doctor I’m hoping those runs will soon be behind me! Post coming soon about that!! Other than that hiccup, training went pretty well, and I ran my first 5K in almost 4 years!

Monday

Planned: 4 Miles

Actual: Strength Training. I honestly cannot remember why I didn’t run – there are no extra notes in my planner so I’m guessing it was either weather related or I was just lazy. Not sure, but at least I got my strength in!

Tuesday

Planned: Strength + Cross

Actual: 4 Miles 43:41 (10:54 pace). This ended up being an unintentional almost progression run  – I knew the 5K was coming up and I figured one last run at some sort of “race pace” would be beneficial, so I pushed hard.  My 3rd mile crept up a little higher than it should have. I made up for it with the next mile, though. I was happy with how this run felt…it was hard, but not impossible. I love getting a good sweat on before work!

Not too shabby!

Not too shabby!

I also hit the weights when I got home, while I watched the remainder of the USA/Belgium soccer match.  So sad we lost 😦

Wednesday

Planned: 5 Miles

Actual: 4.28 Miles 53:25 (12:25 pace) Oof, this was tough. Read about it here. The good news is that I saw a doctor this week and am hopefully on my way to alleviating this problem! Yee-haw!

Thursday

Planned: Strength

Actual: Resting up before the big day!

Friday

Planned: 5K Race

Actual: Jane Neely Run for Your Life 5K. Read about it here! In case you don’t want to read about it – 3.1 Miles 31:21 (9:55 pace) and a new PR!

Saturday

Planned: 10 Miles

Actual: Rest. My brothers came in from out of town so we could spend some quality family time together while we all can. They were planning on arriving early, and spending precious time together was more important than 10 miles. It can wait.

Sunday

Planned: Rest

Actual: 10 Miles 1:55:43 (11:34 pace). All things considered, I’m pretty happy with this one.  I went out to North Park for the first time this year, and I was reminded how much I love it! The first 5 miles were tough – my ankles were hurting (what the crap?! that’s only supposed to happen later in the day), and I thought about quitting. But, I hate quitting. I knew that my doctor’s appointment was the next day, and I thought about the possibility that I may be put on a running hiatus. How pissed would I be if my last run for 2+ weeks (possibly) was one that I didn’t even finish?? Very, just in case you were wondering.  So, I made a pit stop at my car and dropped off the water bottle that I had been carrying (it was irritating me, and wasn’t really warm enough to need it) and sucked down a salted caramel Gu <—– YUM! I also saw Kim from This Runner’s Fuel, but was too chicken to say hi :-(! I decided to suck it up, and I tried to push a little harder for the last 5 miles. It felt like I was running faster, but according to my splits I really didn’t…mile 9 was killer!

It felt like I was going faster...

It felt like I was going faster…

Overall  this was a good long run. I didn’t quit, didn’t give up, and tried as hard as I could to keep an even pace (still working on that part).

In general, I think this was another solid week of training.  From here on out, all of my long runs are in the double digits and while I know they will be tough if the heat/humidity keeps up I am really looking forward to them! 🙂

How’s your training going?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Air Force Marathon Training – Week 5

  1. Nice work! Feels great to see that double digit distance long run, I’ve been slowly building distance back in, this weekend will be my first 10 since the marathon at the beginning of May.

Leave a Reply

