Saying Goodbye

Three days after I posted this, my stepfather passed away. We are all just gutted – of course we knew this would happen, but none of us imagined it would be this soon. I can’t/won’t go into any details because it’s just too much, but I am so grateful that we still had a chance to say ‘I Love You’ one  last time.

I always knew that we shared a special bond, but over the last few days, I was able to meet so many of his friends and coworkers who told me that he has referred to me as his daughter for years. I can’t tell you what it meant to hear that. And it just made it that much harder to say goodbye.

Instead of focusing on the last few weeks, I can take comfort in all of the good memories – and there were so many!

I wish I was a better writer so I could convey all of those wonderful memories, but I’m not and I would hate for those memories to be marred by my shitty writing. Maybe one day, I’ll try.

This is a wound that will take a long to time heal… in fact, I don’t think that it ever really will.  His passing has a left a void that we will never be able to fill.

We will try to move on…I hear that over time it gets easier. I’ll believe that when it happens.

 

I still need a little time, but I’ll be back soon with normal posts about running and cats and happy things. 🙂

Until then:

Grief

 

4 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

Leave a Reply

