What I Ate Wednesday

I know some people are against the whole What I Ate Wednesday thing, but I love it. I’m kind of nebby, so I really enjoy seeing what other people are chomping on and it’s great meal inspiration for when I plan my weekly menus. I think it also helps me physically see where I can/need to make improvements in my diet.

 This wasn’t a perfect day, and my “grand” plans for dinner were derailed when I come home from my run to no water…womp womp. It’s so easy to forget what a great thing running water is until you don’t have any!

Breakfast always starts with coffee and my chemical laden creamer. This is the second Bailey’s flavor I’ve tried and I’m not crazy about them. Number 1, there’s no booze 😉 (what’s the point then?) and 2, they don’t really seem to have a flavor. The label says ‘crème brulee’, but I taste nothing. Too bad I still have one of these in the downstairs refrigerator to use up…

Lies

Lies

Kitties got their breakfast on too….

002

Gizmo’s new thing is to eat straight out of the container. For whatever reason she just can’t wait the 3 extra seconds it takes me to dump the food in her bowl. It’s strange, and hilarious and adorable all at the same time.

A little later I made a lame breakfast of an English Muffin with a fried egg and a slice of Swiss. I normally try to have some veggies or fruit on the side but I didn’t have anything prepped and didn’t have the time to slice/dice/cook.  It was delicious, and fairly filling which is at least half the battle.

Could be better...could be worse

Could be better…could be worse

Today was apparently temptation day because one coworker brought in donuts and the other brought in some leftover food from the Pirates game. Not wanting to be rude, I helped myself to a taste…

If this is wrong...I don't want to be right!

If this is wrong…I don’t want to be right!

Lunch was these beauties. Chicken Enchilada Stuffed Zucchini Boats. Oh.My.Goodness. If you haven’t tried these yet, you’re missing out because they are YUM. My pictures are terrible (it was dark in my kitchen when I packed my lunch) but trust me when I say they’re winners. Even the Tall One likes them; in fact, he requested these for dinner Tuesday night.  I also had some rice on the side <— I’m really sorry, but I have such a hard time getting on the brown rice train. I want to like it, but more often than not I am left seriously underwhelmed. Oh well. It happens.

It looks strange, but tastes amazing!

It looks strange, but tastes amazing!

And, not wanting to be rude, I had 2 garlic chicken wings that my coworker brought in. They were tasty!

065

Berries were a post lunch snack, and some pretzels were my pre-run snack. 

snacks

Water, throughout the day as always.

That is some high quality H2O

That is some high quality H2O

Dinner was supposed to be Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole, but upon arriving home from a humid, sweaty 3 mile run I discovered we had no water.  Not only could I not shower, I couldn’t make dinner either. Sad Panda over here. Not wanting to dirty a ton of dishes, I had the extra healthy dinner of Special K and almond milk.

Mix of multi-grain and vanilla almond. Not too shabby

Mix of multi-grain and vanilla almond. Not too shabby

I’m really beginning to think I’m not supposed to make this dish. I bought all of the ingredients over the weekend for this…except the noodles. I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, but I’m pretty sure that’s a key ingredient. Then last night I had no water to boil noodles or wash dishes. Third time’s a charm, perhaps?

 I gave it a few hours, and the water didn’t come back on so we headed over to my in-laws and took advantage of their shower.  Of course, by the time we got home the water was back. Figures.

 

Today was far from perfect, but I’m working on it. My appetite has been kind nonexistent and it’s just starting to get back to normal, so the fact that I ate this much is winning in my book.  My skin is letting me know that I’ve been eating too much cheese/dairy lately so I’ll have to back off that and maybe hold off on that Tuna Casserole for a while, even though I was finally going to try it with plain almond milk. Sad Panda.

What did you eat today yesterday?

Leave a Reply

