Injury Update (Hopefully the last!)

A while ago, I shared that I was having some major issues with what ended up being diagnosed as Achilles Tendonitis.

I was given this bad ass boot to wear at night, a prescription for physical therapy 3 times a week for a month, and a follow up appointment 4 weeks after my initial meeting with a foot doctor.

And now it’s time for me to share that I never went to PT, and never went to my follow up appointment. Oops. In all fairness I really wasn’t able to commit to that kind of time this past summer, had to cancel my follow up and was never able to reschedule it.

Having said all of that though, I’m relieved to say that I am finally pain free! WAHOO!

How did that happen?

I did a few things on my own that helped immensely, and I feel really helped me get back on track

(1) At home “physical therapy”

Basically, I Googled ‘PT for Achillies Tendonitis” and did what I could at home, on my own schedule. Super cheap (FREE!), and very easy. I use two main stretches to help keep things loose:

The Stairs:

I place the ball of my foot on the edge of the step (and hold onto the railings because I can’t balance to save my life) and push my heel towards the floor.

Doesn't look like much, but, man does it feel GOOD!

Doesn’t look like much, but, man does it feel GOOD!

stretch 2

Don’t laugh at my cankles!

Feels so.good.!! To make sure I get the most out of this, I stretch on each step going up and hold it for about 5-10 seconds per foot. By the time I get to the top, there is no lingering tightness (is that a word? If not, it is now)!

   Tennis Ball.

Love this one so much. Gets all of that “tightness” out of my arches and my tootsies feel like new when I’m done. LOVE!!!

You're welcome for keeping my socks on for these pictures, by the way. I can assure you, it's not pretty.

You’re welcome for keeping my socks on for these pictures, by the way. I can assure you, it’s not pretty.

The second, and my most favorite…

(2) Wearing high heels again!

Can I get an AMEN?! When my tendonitis started to act up (back in FEBRUARY!!), the first thing I did was ditch the heels and wear flats EVERY single day. I assumed, incorrectly, that the heels were a contributing factor to my problems. Every single article, blog, etc. that I read said that heels are terrible for runner and to burn them all. At my (only) doctor’s appointment, however, he told me to put those heels back on. I almost hugged him!! Honestly, I can’t remember the exact reason, but I think it’s because it takes some of the pressure off of the tendon. I could also be completely making that up, so don’t hold me to it.

So far, it seems that wedges work best for me and I’m now on the hunt for a pair of fall ankle booties that are sassy and stylish, and *hopefully* have a wedge as the heel! If you’ve seen any, point in the right direction mmmmkay? I still wear the flats, but never on running days. Anything to keep these legs happy!

(3) Taking time off.

When I made the decision to not run the Air Force Marathon, I really let up on my running schedule. Then, a week later, my stepfather passed away and running fell to the bottom of my priority list. For the entire month of August, I ran maybe 14 miles, and I was really happy with that. I was soo tempted to run the Montour Trail Half Marathon (my first ever half 2 years ago!) on the 6th , but I was feeling too good and didn’t want to rush back and risk having a full blown flare up again. I remembered my long term goals, and decided that there was no reason I needed to run that race. There was also no reason to rush back into an intense running schedule. I’ve been doing what I can, when I can and am A-Okay with that. Having said that, though, I am getting really excited to start a real training plan again and am really looking forward to running a race!

Taking that time off ,I think, is what really allowed me to heal.

I am so grateful to be back in “fighting shape”, and can’t wait to tackle training for the Nittany Valley Half in December! Hopefully you’ll still be following along 🙂 !

One thought on “Injury Update (Hopefully the last!)

Leave a Reply

