Running with Friends

I’ve been running consistently since 2012.

In that time, I’ve run 3 half marathons (training for my 4th starts today), 2 5Ks, and 1 full marathon.

With the exception of miles 20-26 of my marathon where my sister in law ran with me, every single mile of every single training run and race has been done solo.  I never really minded it – it’s all I’ve ever known.  I frequently see groups out running at North Park, on the River Trail or around my neighborhood and while I normally never give it another thought, I’ll admit that every now and then I feel a twinge of jealousy. How nice would it be to have some company and friendly conversation with another real, live person and not myself when I’m out there for hours at a time? Oh well, you’re not missing out on much, is typically what I would tell myself any time I found myself wishing for a running buddy.  

Wrong. I was so, so wrong. I have been missing out on so.much.awesomeness.

After commenting a few times on each other’s blogs that we should go for a run together, Jennifer(Running On Lentils) and I did! We met up Sunday for 9 miles along the River Trail and it was so.much.fun!

I’m not going to lie, I was really nervous.  I had pre-warned her that I am one of the most awkward people ever, but she still wanted to meet up which was great.  I really wanted to make a good first impression (told you I’m strange) so before I drove down to the trail, I made sure my teeth and hair were brushed and that my socks matched <—– taking the time to match socks is how you know I was taking this seriously.  It sounds funny to say that I was so nervous, but it’s true.  We don’t know each other in real life, and we were about to spend almost 2 hours in each others company. What if we didn’t get along? What if we had nothing to talk about? What if I’m being catfished? Ok, that last one is a total exaggeration but I think you get the idea.  Luckily, all of that worry was for absolutely nothing.   We settled into a good pace right away where the time and miles absolutely flew by and we never ran out of things to talk about! It was a gorgeous morning for a run, and we knocked those 9 miles out.  While I know that I will still continue doing the majority of my runs solo, I hope that we can still meet up for some long runs along the way! We’ll have to because even though I had my phone with me, I neglected to take a picture! Two bloggers meet up for a run and don’t take a picture? Did it even really happen then?

 

Thanks Jennifer for ignoring my awkwardness, and letting me tag along your training run. You are going to crush Buffalo Creek!!

2 thoughts on “Running with Friends

  1. LOL on the catfish! I had to click your link to find out what it meant. Ha ha! I am so happy we finally met up and ran together, and I would love to do it again, as often as we’re able to. The only thing is that I found it a bit difficult to talk at times, which is odd because at a slow easy pace, I shouldn’t have problems talking. Maybe I just need to get the hang of it? Also, I didn’t notice your socks but did notice your tank, which I meant to tell you I loved! Hope we can do it again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

