Back At It

After I posted my Week 1 “recap”, I felt like a total jerk for whining so much.  Peanut totally gave me the side eye for that one.

Suck it up, Buttercup

Suck it up, Buttercup

 

Now that I’m feeling like myself again, I’m excited to get back to my training plan. I’m slightly readjusting my weekday runs to be Tuesday and Wednesday, since my root canal is scheduled for Thursday and I’d rather not run Friday, Saturday AND Sunday. No particular reason, I just like spacing things out.

Chilly, rainy fall weather has arrived and for the most part I LOVE it (yay for boots, sweaters and scarves!), but the runner in me doesn’t want to give up shorts weather just yet. 

Tuesday’s run was good. Not fantastic, but not terrible either. I did 3.5 miles at 10:51 pace but it felt like was sprinting for a good portion of it. Ohhhh wait. I was sprinting a good portion of it. Want to know why? It’s because I kept running into a pack of vicious, wild turkeys. Seriously. Anytime I came near these buggers, they starting freaking chasing me, and I’d have to book it in the other direction. Most of the time I was still a good distance away from them, but it didn’t matter – once they saw me it was game on. I didn’t bring my phone with me yesterday because I didn’t want to risk it getting ruined in the rain, but I really wished I would have so I could (try) to capture THAT moment. When they start coming after you, they mean business.  I’ve seen them chase a couple of other runners before and I normally try to avoid them, but I didn’t even notice them until it was too late.

 Today was GREAT – the plan was a 4 mile tempo run. 1 mile to warm up, 2 tempo miles, 1 mile to cool down.  I always have a hard time with speedwork – I start out so fast that I can’t sustain the pace and then burn out before I even have a mile in.  I didn’t really have a target pace to hit – I just wanted to make sure the second mile was faster than my first and that the second half of my second mile was faster than the first half.  Did you follow that? Good. I didn’t either. 

9:56, say what?!

9:56, say what?!

Going by that “logic”, or lack thereof, my run was a success. Admittedly, the second tempo mile was way too fast but I was feeling really good so I went for it. I know that I’m not going to be busting out some consistent 9:56 miles but it’s really encouraging to know that those times ARE somewhere in these legs!

I am so grateful that I’m feeling good again and am ready to tackle some great runs this weekend! I have new long run route that I’m very excited to try – I think it’s going to mimic the elevation profile of the NVHM really well!

2 thoughts on “Back At It

Leave a Reply

