NVHM Training Week 3 – Kind of Another Wash

Oy. These last 3 weeks could be described as “1 step forward, 3 steps backwards”. My first week of training was kind of a wash, thanks to an abscessed tooth and a root canal. Week 2 was FANTASTIC – solid runs, good speedwork, and a great long run. Week 3? Pretty much another wash.

My tendonitis started to flare up again, and true Drama Queen fashion I spazzed. I was convinced that this half marathon was kaput, my spring race  already in jeopardy, etc. Thankfully, Jennifer talked some sense into me, and told me that it was going to be A-OK. She reminded me that one or two days wouldn’t destroy my training, and that most importantly, I know how to handle this injury and how to fix it!  I took an extra rest day this week, so I ran a total of 3 days, for…wait for it….10 miles. Honestly, I’m not upset by that. Disappointed? Eh, sort of. I’m disappointed that I apparently haven’t learned how to take care of myself, but not disappointed that I’m still running, even if it’s only half of the mileage that I originally planned for.  It’s better than nothing!!

I took Tuesday as an extra rest day, and picked back up on Thursday. 2 slow, easy AM miles on the treadmill. I didn’t care about pace…just making sure that I got myself moving without any problems. I also remembered that I’m supposed to be attempting to run on the dreadmill treadmill once a week to get used to it, so this was a good thing 🙂 .

treadmill

Friday – 2 more miles. Outside this time…still no pain! YAY! Another note about this run? I got chased by the flippin’ turkeys again. Jennifer suggested that they may be chasing people because they’re protecting their babies, but I don’t think that is the case. These jagoffs were laying in wait for a total sneak attack on me. I do a lot of my running in a cemetery because it’s super close to my house and it has a lot of good paths to run on and is usually safe minus the turkeys…  Anyway, I try to keep an eye out for them so I can avoid the pack and I didn’t see them anywhere. I shit you not they were hiding behind some headstones waiting for me!! As soon as I ran past, 2 or 3 of them jumped out from behind some graves and started the chase. I screamed SO LOUD, and took off with those jerks in hot pursuit . Again, one of those time I really wished I had my phone so I could have (tried) to get a video of that.

I moved my long run to Saturday, since I will be at my nephew’s birthday party on Sunday! I wasn’t sure how long this run would actually be. I didn’t want to overdo it, so I figured I’d cap it at 6 if I could make that far and had every intention of stopping the second it started to hurt. LUCKILY, it never did so I was able to get all 6 in with no problem.

Even managed a good pace!

Even managed a good pace!

I was also super responsible when I came home and iced, AND stretched before doing anything else.  Post run, my leg was a little tight but totally manageable.

I’m not sure what next week will bring. Of course, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get 4 solid days in but I’ll be happy with any running and am also fine with taking an extra rest day or rest week if necessary. Ok, that’s a little bit of a lie. I won’t be “fine” with a full rest week, but if that’s what I need then…that’s what I need. Look at me being so responsible and stuff.

2 thoughts on “NVHM Training Week 3 – Kind of Another Wash

  1. Such great news that you’re already running pain-free! And very good that you’re still being cautious and doing lots of preventive work too. It’s also great that you’re taking things day by day and are willing to adjust, instead of thinking “I must run X miles this week.” And if you start to feel guilty about low mileage or missed runs, this might help. A woman I sat with on the shuttle bus to the half marathon start told me that she after having twins a year ago, she hasn’t been running much and her longest run in the past year was four miles! So I really think that missing a run here or there won’t impact your training overall. Fingers crossed for continued good news this week!

    • Thank you :-D!! That story really does put my mind at ease! It’s easy to feel like I’m not working “hard enough” when I have to take those extra days, but I just need to remind myself that long-term it’s really for the best!

Leave a Reply

