NVHM Week 7 – Closing In!

This was a really, really good week! I got to enjoy one last run in shorts and t-shirt, and got to try out my new winter weather outfits. Ahhhh, Pittsburgh!!  It’s getting closer and closer to race day, and I only have one more long run left before I start my mini taper! I’m getting really excited 🙂

Monday, I caught up on my DVR shows *Does anyone else watch Revenge?? It’s getting SO good!!* and did the ice/stretch routine. I also realized that it had been 1 year since I ran my first full marathon!

Tuesday was almost certainly the last time I will get to run in shorts and shorts and a t-shirt and it was soooo nice! It was a beautiful day for running, so I set out for my recovery run. I ran 4 miles in 43:36 for a 10:53 pace. I let my legs do their own thing, and was pleasantly surprised when I saw my average pace! Everything clicked and came together and I would have loved to keep going! Good stuff!!

I had a hair appointment (finally) on Wednesday so I got my strength training in first thing in the morning.  I’m getting more comfortable with this, and I think it’s finally time to either increase the weights or maybe just add an extra set to the mix. I haven’t decided which yet, but I’m happy that I’m finally finding a good rhythm with this!

By the time Thursday rolled around it was cold and snowing 😦 . I thought about doing my speedwork on the treadmill, but it occurred to me that the possibility of it being cold and snowing on race day is pretty high and I should just suck it up and deal with it.  I considered doing 400 –ish meter repeats (I don’t do them on a track so there is a good margin of error when I’m trying to watch the distance on my watch), but decided that I haven’t done a progression run lately so I went for it. 4 miles/ 10:34 avg.

.

progression 11-13Once again, it was too dark before I could squeeze it one more mile, but I am certain that I could have cranked out another one had I had the time.  I felt strong and controlled and my mind was 100% on board. This was a great run, and I was really happy with what I accomplished. It was getting darker and harder to monitor the time on my watch so I had to go solely by feel – I wasn’t sure that the last mile would be faster so I was pleasantly surprised to see it was good bit faster.

On Friday I got my strength training done in the morning, and as usual, caught up on How To Get Away With Murder (SO. Good. If you’re watching it: who do you think killed Sam? I think I’ve figured it out, but I’ll have to wait and see!).  I didn’t it mention before, but on my long run last week I started noticing some pain in my left knee.  Nothing crazy, but I was definitely aware of it, and it didn’t act up on either of my weekday runs.  After an exhaustive consultation with Dr. Google, I arrived at 3 possible causes –

  •  I may need new shoes – it’s possible. I haven’t added up the miles in the last month or so but I’m guessing that I’m close to 300 ish.
  • Running on the road – I always run facing traffic and a lot of my route has me on the left side. Same side as the knee pain. The slope of the road is pretty steep in a lot of places, and I could be putting a lot of extra pressure on that knee.
  • Runner’s Knee – The pain is worse when I’m running downhill, but I don’t have any problems after I run, while walking down steps, etc. so it doesn’t seem likely.

Luckily, all of these are relatively easy fixes.  Brooks is launching the new models of my Adrenalines in a few weeks; I can alter my running route or stay in the road a little more while I’m running (as long as there is no traffic, obviously); AND, because Runner’s World obviously read my mind they just published an article on relieving Runner’s Knee through strengthening your hips.  I added almost all of these moves to my routine on Friday and plan to keep incorporating them! Whether or not I actually have Runner’s Knee doesn’t really matter – these are simple and easy to include in my daily routines. I’ve also found some extra hip stretches to do as well.

I switched things up for Saturday, and did my long run. I had a 50th Anniversary brunch to attend for good family friend on Sunday, so I wouldn’t be able to keep to my normal schedule.  It was another cold day, but the sun was out so I really didn’t notice, or mind the cold. I was also excited to test out some of my new winter running clothes from Target so I was a little excited to see it was cold enough to wear them! I got started a little later than I was hoping, thanks to my Garmin not charging, but I knocked out 12 miles in 2:13, good enough for an 11:05 pace. I felt really strong for the majority of the run – the last hill around mile 10 was a bit of a bear, but I was able to recover and finish with a faster final mile. I had a little knee pain, but not much. I did try to stay in the road where it’s more level whenever possible and I think that made a difference!  Shooter and Wilbur made sure that I took a few minutes to ice both legs and my knee.

Shooter is a real stickler when it comes to icing.

Shooter is a real stickler when it comes to icing.

Between the ice, ice water and just being cold in general I could NOT warm up! I had the hot water going full blast and was still shivering. It was hours before I felt normal again!  

Sunday was brunch day, and I had high hopes of knocking out a few miles later in the day but….yeah. That didn’t happen.  Between brunch, and helping my mom with a few things after I ended up getting home after 5:30. Combine that with several one or two (strong) Bloody Marys, and I figured that it was better to hang out on the couch and rehydrate 😉 Am I disappointed that I didn’t get another 4 or 5 miles of needed hills? Yes. Looking back, I should have run Friday evening to get a few more miles in. I had the foresight to change my long run to Saturday, but not enough to realize that I shouldn’t try to cram miles on Sunday. Oh well! Since I’m still not 100% sure about my knee, maybe an extra rest day is for the best. If I keep telling myself that, at least I won’t feel as dumb/guilty about the mixup 😉

4 thoughts on “NVHM Week 7 – Closing In!

  1. You are definitely getting faster! Sounds like a really great week, even if you didn’t get those Sunday miles in. For intervals, I set my auto lap to .25 miles so that it dings & I don’t have to look at my watch, which is handy in the dark.

    Pics of the new run clothes, please!

    • I will have to figure out how to do that on my Garmin! I know you told me how to, so I’ll have to practice setting that up! I should definitely do a post of my new gear – so far I am really happy with all of it!

  2. Seems like you had a good week of training before you start to taper. I gave up on Revenge 2 seasons ago. Now how to get away with murder is a good one and I think I know who killed Sam also.

    • Thanks Shaun!
      Season 2 of Revenge was pretty awful, but it’s really picked back up and is getting good again! HTGAWM is amazing – did you successfully guess Sam’s killer? My guess was spot on – except for the very end!

Leave a Reply

