Good Riddance 2014…and 2015 Goals!

I know this is said every December, but man did this year fly by! I always try to find the positive in situations, but overall 2014 was a pretty shitty year – there were some ups, lots of down and a lot of heartache when my step dad passed away in August.

There were a few good things about 2014, and they were all in the running department:

  • I set a PR in both the half marathon (2:18 at Pittsburgh) and 5K (28:10)
  • I started this little blog
  • I’ve started connecting with other runners in the area, and even made a new friend!

I am so ready to kick 2014 to the curb, and ring in what will hopefully be a much better 2015.

I’ve seen a lot of other people writing out their goals for the year, and because I’m a follower, though I’d do the same. I’m sure this list will evolve over the year and it will be fun to check in periodically to see where I’m at with that!

My Running/Fitness Goals:

Run the Pittsburgh Marathon on May 3rd, and finish with a PR.

Bring it!

Bring it!

My current time is 5:23, so I’d be happy with any improvement but I’m really looking for a 4:50 or better.

Half Marathon PR. My current PR is 2:18, which I snagged this past May. I’m not sure what time, specifically just yet, but 2:12 sounds like a fun number to shoot for.  

STRENGTH TRAINING. I have tried so many times to stick with this and just can’t seem to make it work.  I am really going to try to add it in 3 days/week to my upcoming training. At this point I don’t know how else to make it stick, other than to just DO IT. I know that it will be beneficial from an injury prevention perspective, and to be honest I wouldn’t mind leaning out a bit…losing some chub and gaining some visible muscle definition would be A-OK in my book.

Pretty much this...     (source)

Pretty much this…   (source)

Run an injury free year. This ties into the strength training above. No one likes to take time off due to an injury, so I’m going to do my best to strength train, stretch, ice, etc. so that I don’t have to take days off to heal. If I take time off, I want it to be because I want to…not have to.

Other Goals

Blog more! I blog about as consistently as I lift weights, so I would definitely like to increase my posting frequency!

Learn how to use my camera. Last Christmas my husband got me a fancy digital camera and I have barely used it. I don’t understand how to work most of the functions on there except for the auto setting, so I feel like I’m not getting as much out of it as I could.

Use my Gratitude Journal daily. I am a big believer in the power of positive thoughts and gratitude. At the end of every day when I’m getting ready for bed, I stop and think of 1 or 2 things that I am most grateful for, or the best thing that happened that day. It can be something  small, or something bigger but the point is that it gets you thinking about the many things you have to grateful for. I also have a gratitude journal that I write a few things in everyday that I’m grateful for. Again, this can be big or small. I sometimes go a few days or weeks without actually writing in the journal, so I’d really like to get back into the habit. It can be 1 thing for the day or it can be 10, but the bottom line is, to write them out.  My overall outlook is brighter when I do these things so I’d like to be a little more consistent.

Find a good sugar cookie recipe! We tried to make sugar cookies this year, and it was a huge flop. I need to get a few recipes together, test them out and find the best one. If you have one, pass it along!

Get Braces…at least look into it. My teeth aren’t terrible, but over the last 2 or 3 years my front teeth (really, it just one lousy tooth) have started crowding a bit and have become really crooked. I don’t always notice it when I look in the mirror, but I REALLY see it in pictures and it makes me incredibly self-conscious. I want to check out Invisalign to see what the time and cost commitment are. I’d rather not get traditional braces, but if that’s my only option that’s what I’ll do. I’m going to make an appointment for a consultation and then hopefully get the ball rolling later this year.

Happy New Year!!

6 thoughts on “Good Riddance 2014…and 2015 Goals!

    • Jon, thanks for stopping by! I am really hoping that is the case, but after my latest half (2:35) my confidence is still a little shaken! Hopefully that was a fluke! Hope you’ll stop by again and check in on the progress!

  1. Happy new year! These are all great & will be a good challenge to work toward. I look forward to following your progress & congratulating you when you get those PRs! Love the gratitude journal. I use a paper journal to plan out the week, so it would be easy for me to write down something I’m grateful for every day when I’m updating my plans. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

