Pittsburgh Marathon Training – Week 15

Holy poop. It is RACE WEEK!!! Just typing that out has my little sausage fingers trembling with a mixture of excitement and terror. At this point, I know there is nothing more to do than (TRY) to relax and make sure I don’t do something asinine  (like thinking running a 15 miler as my last long run is a good idea. Spoiler alert: I didn’t!). I only ran 20 miles this week…it was supposed to be 28 but sometimes life happens and running falls to the bottom of the priority list. This was one of those times, and to be honest it’s probably for the best that I only got 3 days in; my legs should be READY to run come race morning!

Monday – 3 guesses to what I did today…first 2 don’t count. AND GO!!

 

There is a little gray nose poking out of those blankets.

There is a little gray nose poking out of those blankets.

Yes. I rested.

Tuesday3.71 miles 42:21 (11:26 pace). You can so tell it’s The Taper. Everything felt difficult, I kept stopping at the house because I thought I needed a bathroom and didn’t want to do the penguin waddle home. I finally just gave up at 3.71…I had only planned on 4 anyway and I wasn’t putting my shoes back on for a quarter mile (we have a STRICT ‘No Shoes in the House’ rule…no matter how close you are to crapping your pants). Sort-of not sorry about this.

Wednesday – I debated running on Wednesday or not. I had a hair appointment on Thursday so it was either run Wednesday or Friday. It was cold, and raining and even though I normally LOVE a good run in the rain I just didn’t feel like it today. This decision would be the reason that I only got 3 days in.

Thursday – My mom was admitted to the hospital after an incident at work, and so I spent most of the day at the hospital waiting for test and doctors. I  had to take care the of The Wieners since my mom wasn’t coming home and for whatever reason I thought it was a brilliant idea to let them stay at our house, rather than me sleep at my mom’s. HAHAHAHAHAA. It was like having two infants in the house. No sleep was had by anyone, and I thought the cats were going to kill me.

Friday – Mom had more tests, but we expected her to be discharged. I went out to the hospital bright and early and figured we would be home by dinner time and I could get a quick 3 or 4 miles in. This is the 2nd HAHAHAHAHAHAHA of the recap.  She was released, but I didn’t get her home until almost 9:30, so I didn’t get home until 10. Just in time to see the Pens lose Game 5. Awesome.

Saturday6 miles 1:06:57 (11:10 pace). April 25th. The perfect date:

All you need is a light jacket. And gloves. And a hat. Maybe a scarf too,

All you need is a light jacket. And gloves. And a hat. Maybe a scarf too, if you live in Pittsburgh.

However, that was bullshit. It.was.SNOWING. What in the ever loving hell is this?! We just can’t catch a break. I did my favorite loop around the house just to keep practicing my hill strategy. All things considered, this was pretty good; two days of late nights, shitty hospital food, stress, etc. can do a number on you so I was A-OK with this pace!

Sunday10 miles 1:52:31 (11:15 pace) LAST.LONG.RUN. Jiminy Cricket! The plan said 12, but for whatever reason 10 sounded better. I figured it’s better not to push it this late in the game. The weather was awesome. Cool, but sunny and a light breeze.

Let's do this.

Let’s do this.

If we could have this weather next Sunday, that would be fantastic. As long as we don’t hit the predicted high of 77 until after the race is over. Scratch that. In the 15 minutes it took me to put this post together, the forecast now shows rain. And so it beings.  And again, because I went back to re-read/edit and the rain is gone…cloudy with a high of 75. Hold me closer, Tony Danza.

4 thoughts on “Pittsburgh Marathon Training – Week 15

  1. Happy race week! Congrats on an awesome training cycle! You are going to do awesome on Sunday. I can’t wait to congratulate you when you cross the finish line! I also hope your mom is doing better. I can imagine how you cats felt to have to unexpectedly share their house with two dogs!!!

    • Thank you!!! The only concern I have left is the weather…but that it so completely out of my control that I have to try (key word…TRY) to let go of that.

      To be honest I have NO idea what we were thinking, bringing the pups home like that!! I (obviously) wasn’t thinking too clearly. Lesson learned – if that ever happens again (hope it doesn’t, but if it does) I will stay at her house. I felt really bad for the kids…I had to buy their love back with some tuna 😉 Mom is doing MUCH better – thank you!! Its was definitely a stressful couple of days that I’m glad are behind me!

    • Thank you so much!! I am getting really excited! I’m still nervous about the weather, but I have to keep telling myself it will be fine!
      I think we are ALL going to have some awesome races this weekend 😀 !!!

Leave a Reply

