Buffalo Creek Half Marathon Training Plan AND Sharing Some Exciting News!

This is my first week of training for the Buffalo Creek Half Marathon (BCHM from now on because that is just too much to type!), and I have yet to post my training plan. I’m finally getting around to that, and to be honest, it’s the not the most exciting. I tried to make my own plan – I did. I sat down at the kitchen table 3 weeks ago surrounded by planners, calendars, books, printouts, 7 different colored pens and….I just couldn’t do it. Nothing was making sense, or flowing and to be honest, I just didn’t want to do it.
I was so overwhelmed for some reason that making a plan seemed impossible. I decided to go back to the basics and stick with something that I know works. I used Hal Higdon’s beginner half marathon (Novice 1, I think) plan years ago for my first race and since that is my 2nd best half marathon time, I figured that Hal wouldn’t lead me astray this time either. I went back and forth between the Intermediate and Advanced plans and was even going to “merge” them – I loved the idea of doing long runs by time instead of distance but ultimately decided that might not be the best option. I’m on the slower side and if the plan calls for a 2 hour long run I may only get 10 or 11 (at most) miles in. I don’t feel like that’s enough. With the intermediate I’ll get a 12 miler in, and I know I’ll feel much more confident on race day with a 12 miler or 2 under my belt. So, Intermediate it is!! I’m also slightly shifting the plan around so that Saturday will be my long run day (the race is on Saturday, and I have *thing* about doing my long runs on the same day the race will be. Don’t ask.), and Sunday will be a rest day instead of Monday. This doesn’t sound like much, but I hate running on Mondays. For some reason, my body just doesn’t like it. Luckily, Mondays will be easy days so I don’t think it will be too horrible.
This should do

This should do

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ll be doing this all by heart rate so my zone are:
Recovery Runs (Monday): <155 bpm
Repeats (Every other Tuesday): 186-190 bpm
Tempo (Every other Tuesday): 170-178
Medium Pace (Wednesday): 155-160 bpm
Pace Runs (Friday): 170-174
Long Runs (Saturday): 151-164
For the last month or two, I’ve been doing a pretty good job of strength training 3x week and I’m going to do my best to stick with that, but we’ll see.
I have a little something extra going on in the background that will take priority over all of this, though.
***************************************
I’M GOING BACK TO SCHOOL!!!! I’ve applied, and been accepted to, Point Park University. I’ll be doing the classes online because I have no desire to go to night classes AND spend 9+ hours every Saturday in a classroom. The online option will give me more freedom and flexibility to continue working full time, and have a little bit of a life. I hope. This will obviously be my first priority and once classes start (August 23rd. I can’t wait!), I’ll have to see how training fits in. If I need to cut back and drop a weekday run then that’s what I’ll do.
I also have a vacation smack dab in the middle of this training cycle AND school that we’ll have to work around but I’ll worry about that when we get there 🙂
Gizmo is not thrilled with the idea. She'd rather sleep on the laptop than let me use it.

Gizmo is not thrilled with the idea. She’d rather sleep on the laptop than let me use it.

Obviously this is a huge step that warrants it’s own post, and once I have my classes scheduled and a better idea of what’s going on I’ll definitely be sharing!

10 thoughts on “Buffalo Creek Half Marathon Training Plan AND Sharing Some Exciting News!

  1. Hal has never done me wrong on a half. My HM PR from Buffalo Creek is thanks to Hal’s Intermediate plan. It’s solid. Congrats on getting into Point Park! I took some classes there a while back. What are you studying?

    • Thanks! I’m going to be in the Accounting program, which is kind of hilarious because I am pretty awful at math!!

      I’m pretty excited about this plan – I’m hoping it leads to some good things 😀

  2. Great plan! I also love to take a plan and then customize it to work best for me. Mondays are definitely a tough day to run. I don’t blame you for wanting a rest day! Good luck taking classes! Dan started at grad school last year at Pitt and has been doing fine with that and working. He just has a little less time to watch TV than usual 🙂

    • Thanks!! I’m hoping that it won’t be as bad as I’m expecting; I was told to plan for 12-15 hours per class, per week for this program so we’ll see what happens 🙂

      I normally like taking plans and making them my own, but it was nice to just have someone tell me what to do and not have to think about it at all!

  3. First congrats on getting back into school, hope it all works out for you. I love higdon methods for training and feel like it is one of the best around, even with customizing you will still benefit from it. So glad we are all running Buffalo Creek, will make a fun race

    • Higdon really is the man! I don’t know why I ever strayed from him 🙂

      I’m excited to get school started – part of me knows that I should savor the last month before the hard work starts, but the rest of me just wants to get started!!

  4. Wow – Congratulations on your acceptance to Point Park and good luck to you! I’m running Buffalo Creek as well this year. I seriously have to make a list of the people going so we can have a meet up. There are so many. Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

