It’s Been a Year

It’s been a year since my step dad passed away. Some days it feels like a lifetime ago, but more often it feels like seconds ago. I think of him and miss him every single day. I don’t know if it will ever get easier, but I’m getting better at remembering the good times with a smile, rather than sobs.  It’s been a year and I have learned so much about myself and others. I’ve realized that my mom is stronger and braver than I ever gave her credit for and if I get 1/16 of that strength and bravery I will be a very lucky person. I’ve (re) learned that my husband is the best and we would not have been able to do this without him. I have so much more that I want to say, but really don’t know how to, so I won’t even try. It’s been a year…and we miss you so much ❤ .

 

"It's been a long day without you, my friend. And I'll tell you all about it when I see you again."

“It’s been a long day without you, my friend. And I’ll tell you all about it when I see you again.”

6 thoughts on “It’s Been a Year

  1. Sorry for your loss. I don’t think the pain/sadness ever fully goes away but I believe that’s part of what keeps the people we love alive in us, if that makes any sense…. at least that’s how I like to think about it. ((HUGS))

  2. Like Nicole said when we lose someone close the pain really never goes away, but we learn to cope with it and remember the good times. It’s good that you can smile when you think back on memories.

    • It’s getting easier to think of the good times, rather than those last few weeks so that’s definitely a good thing. I’m beginning to understand that the pain will never fully go away, and that’s OK.

Leave a Reply

